Can anyone tell me if this recipe is viable? Apparently it is very easy and does not require special equipment...

84modfo3j

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
(First of all, I am a total noob. The biggest recipe I've ever made is to make myself dinner)

you can find it by searching "Method for making phenylethylamine compounds EP2540698B1"

Example 1 Dextroamphetamine (not according to the invention)
  • [0028]
    A mixture of 6.00 g (33.9 mmol) (4S,5R)-(-)-4-methyl-5-phenyl-2-oxazolidinone, 0.34 g 10% palladium-on-carbon (50% water wet), and 60 mL SDA-3A (a solvent constituting 95% Ethanol and 5% Methanol) was stirred under a hydrogen filled balloon at ambient temperature (approximately 20°C) until no more oxazolidinone was detected by HPLC, 4 h. The reaction mixture was then filtered through a pad of Celite to remove the catalyst. For the purposes of isolating the free base, a filtered reaction mixture was carefully concentrated under reduced pressure to leave 4.47 g of a crystalline semi-solid, which was found to be a mixture of 96% dextroamphetamine and 4% ethanol by 1H NMR. Some dextroamphetamine was detected in the distillate. Yield = 94%. 400 MHz 1 H NMR (CDCl3) 7.34-7.20 (m, 5), 3.22-3.17 (m, 1), 2.76-2.72 (d of d, J = 13.2 Hz, J' = 5.4 Hz, 1), 2.57-2.52 (d of d, J = 13.2 Hz, J' = 8.1 Hz, 1), 1.16-1.14 (d, J = 6.3 Hz, 3).

Example 5 Dextroamphetamine Sulfate
  • [0032]
    The method of Example 1 was followed until the catalyst was filtered away whereupon a total of 7 mL 25% H2SO4 (aq) was added dropwise to the filtrate over 3 min. After cooling in an ice/water bath for 15 min, the mixture was filtered to collect the dextroamphetamine sulfate using cold SDA-3A as a flask and cake rinse. After drying, a total of 5.79g of dextroamphetamine sulfate was obtained, 93% yield. This material was assayed at 100% by HPLC.

what meaning that "not according to the invention"????