What reagents can I use instead of diethyl ether?

bitcoinup2020

Don't buy from me
Resident
Language
🇬🇧
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a beginner.

6. Crude MDMA free base is extracted from the alkaline solution with diethyl ether (or petroleum ether) 2 x 50 mL. Ether extract with MDMA free base is dried over MgSO4.

from step 6
What reagents can I use instead of diethyl ether?

Thank you very much for the answer. with respect

ymaaah

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
You can use ethyl acetate, safer than diethyl ether

UWe9o12jkied91d

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
Deals
Ethyl acetate partially hydrolises in contact with alkali, it is no good for extracting freebase.
@bitcoinup2020 you can substitute with any non-polar (doesn't mix with water) solvent, popular choices are: petroleum ether (aka naphta, whitespirt), toluene, xylene, hexanes, dichloromethane or in absence of any of these even gasoline from the pump that has been washed with NaOH solution, followed by H2SO4 wash can be used.

View previous replies…

bitcoinup2020

Don't buy from me
Resident
Language
🇬🇧
Reaction score
can i use dichloromethane In order to extract the amount according to the steps, can you tell me? dichloromethane 2 x 50 mL

bblanco

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
Hello sirs,

I have this petroleum from the gasstation which they heat houses or farms with. Somewhere i read you could just do fractional distillation and 20-60 degrees the result would be the ether?

Im not a chemist and before i blow myself and half the hood up in the air i thought hmm maybe better check check double check... now i used thinner (paint thing).. but as i have this petroleum i want to do something with it..?

Thanks!
BB

UWe9o12jkied91d

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
Deals
Yeah it's petroleum ether, you can indeed fractionally distill it or simply purify to remove oils and additives and use as is

bblanco

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score