ethyl nitrite wacker ketone synthesis (better than benzo wacker?)

fidelis

Don't buy from me
Resident
Reaction score
original synth/writeup by krz and potisgood respectively, enjoy (not two links, was unable 2 locate krzs post. either way, i suggest opening it cuz the replies have important info ^_^ the synth will still work but one step may be unnecessary, need someone 2 check 4 me bc im not a chemistry expert)

After about a month of fucking around with KrZ's ethyl nitrite wacker, I finally got it working. And it works damn good. Not only is this method less messy than the benzo wacker but it also has the following advantages:

1) No need for benzo. Ethyl nitrite can be made from sodium nitrite, which is not that hard to get. Plus, the sodium nitrite can be regenerated from the NO gas generated by the reaction.

2) The yield is better.

3) Less PdCl2 is needed.

Now that it's perfected, this method is probably the best method around for making ketone. Here's the method that I have developed:

The glassware setup is fairly complicated, but I'll describe it as best I can. There are two parts to it -- A reaction setup and an EtONO (ethyl nitrite) generator. The reaction setup consists of a round bottom flask and a condenser. There should also be some way to input gas between the flask and the condenser. The top of the condenser should have a vacuum outtake attached to it to vent of the toxic NO gas that is produced.

The EtONO generator consists of a flat bottomed flask (round bottom will work too) with a pressure equalized addition funnel on top. A column packed with anhydrous CaSO4 is attached to the top of the addition funnel, and a vacuum outtake adapter should be connected to the top of the column. This vacuum adapter is then connected to the gas inlet on the reaction setup. The vacuum outtake on the reaction setup is connected to a bubbling apparatus or simply out the window. Fuck, that was pretty complicated huh? Too bad I don't have a picture.